A Lovely Staycation with Kids and Colleagues at Hotel 101

Standard

Finally, a short ‘free’ time to write for my blog. 🙂  I’ve been pretty busy these past few days (and will still be busy in the upcoming weeks)! But who’s complaining?

Let’s get the ball rolling, shall we?

I just wanted to share with you my weekend adventure with the kids and few of my colleagues from Rajah Travel .

It was a couple of weeks ago when I was invited by my boss to book a hotel room at Hotel 101 in Pasay (I’ll make a separate post for my review). I was a bit hesitant because I was still in the process of moving in and I had to save moolah for a whole bunch of things. However it all changed when she told me that we could get a special rate – oh the perks of working for a travel agency. Plus, I asked a good friend and colleague to come with me so we can share the bill. Ha! Am I smart or what?

Kidding aside, I thought that it would be a great opportunity to relax, spend time with my kids and also revive my fluctuating social life. It was actually a brilliant plan.

Come Saturday, I packed our things and prepared for the battle. I say battle because I decided not to bring a car and just used the public transportation. Imagine – me with a huge travelling bag and 2 kids!

If you are planning to use public transportation for a long journey and you have your kids with you, here are some of my tips:

  • Brief your kids. Tell them what to do when they get lost or your rules so you can already manage their expectations.
  • Make it a fun journey. It was my daughter’s first time to ride a bus and it was their first time to ride an MRT. I convinced them that it was sort of an adventure  – even if we all know it’s a pain in the arse to ‘commute’ within the metro.
  • Do not bring a lot of bags. I just brought 2 (1 for our clothes, 1 for my valuables). Carrying multiple bags is a big NO – NO for me because it would just add up to my worries.

Am I carrying it all?

Am I missing a bag?

Where did I put my wallet?

With just few bags, you can maximize your hands! 🙂

  • Bring snacks. I actually forgot ours so we ended up hungry for almost an hour. Bad!
  • Carry a truck load of patience. Need I say more?
nT5Q-37XZl5HYmEU7zPDM-gJtaTycRFF

See? They were enjoying! While I, on the other hand, was carrying a heavy bag trying to pretend I’m fine 😀 

Our first stop was at Driven Marketing’s Office. I was so happy my co – brokers were so helpful in looking out for my kids as I had to interview one agent. 🙂

Off we go to Rajah Travel. Luckily, it was their Annual Physical Examination schedule and other parents brought their kids with them. Let’s just say, a part of the office became a playpen. That was a good way to kill time before we headed to Hotel 101.

12814767_197987577237546_915923686696445205_n

My colleagues/ friends with my kids. 🙂

My first consideration for a hotel is the pool. Thing is, kids don’t enjoy hotel rooms as much as adults do.  So having a pool is a must if you are planning a staycation. They pretty much enjoyed it and thank heavens my colleagues were helpful. They helped me carry my bags and dress up my kids, or just holding their hands while we cross the streets. These little things matter for a single parent like me, you know. 🙂

h0halI9i6LilXg1I-itDXAMiBCGfrtNU

xgz_pfuGZB4NWYsz5qYtF1ySgojodPVb

We stayed at the pool side so I can still watch over my kids. 🙂 Thank you for being so considerate guys. 

When it was time to hit the sack (for the kids), we all went to our room to play cards. I learned fast, I must say! It was so much fun because 1) I learned something new 2) I was able to beat them a couple of times. Although, I will not share my stupid questions and tactics during the game of Pusoy Dos! Let this post be about my achievement. *Laughs*

10592757_582631978558853_7918035430857481376_n

Strategy 101 

After checking out, we ate at Vikings – Thank you Ms. Stef!

I’m not a fan of buffet so I can’t make a decent review about it. It was just food for me – a whole lot of it. To cut it short, I don’t think I was able to maximize my stay. Don’t get me wrong. With this body, it is quite obvious that I eat a lot. It’s just that, I can’t eat much in such a short span of time.

Time to go home after a 3 – hour lunch!

I was dead tired and felt sick after another long bus and jeepney rides. I dozed off instantly upon reaching my apartment. My body is telling me that it’s not OK by making me feel pains here and there.  But it was all worth it. It was one of the best weekends so far and every money I spent didn’t matter. I don’t care repeating it again and I don’t mind tagging my kids along – even if that means I’d experience the same exhaustion.

4o5rZiFNrUxKrghYBwStzgrWzYE8wXyA

Looking fresh. I just had to take a shot because minutes after – I looked like a mess! 

Until our next hotel adventure.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Hotel Review – Hotel 101, Pasay Manila – YOUNG MOMMY B.A.

Leave a Reply

