I Spent Practically NOTHING for My Outfit

If you must know, I’m really a thrift – spender and I don’t go for the expensive clothes (unless for the classic pieces) because of these reasons.

  1. I would rather splurge on travel or maybe for some stuff I can use in my NEW HOME. 🙂 If you haven’t read my post about my decision to move out, please click here. Or if I’m going to buy clothes, I will make sure that it’s not too trendy. This is so it will never go out of style and I can wear it for YEARS!
  2. Dressing up is not my priority. I am a firm believer that if you carry yourself confidently, it doesn’t matter if you are in flats or heels. Don’t get me wrong though, I still have those days when I would pick a dress from my closet and admire myself in front of the mirror. I think it’s my way of reassuring myself that I am confidently beautiful … with a heart… and big hips!  But again, it isn’t my priority.

Now, let’s get back to my story.

I attended a ‘Black and White’ party a couple of weeks ago. To my surprise, few people (mostly people I don’t know) appreciated what I wore that night. They said it was simple yet classy. Well, actually that’s what I always aim for –  sleek, chic and classy. So thank you very much. 🙂   But here’s a little secret,  I didn’t spend anything for my wardrobe. 

Young Mommy BA just got invited. 😉 #GoldenPhoenixHotel #Blogger

A post shared by BA Isla (@baisla.speaks) on

You think I might be exaggerating? I AM NOT!

Corset Type Top (See, I don’t even know how to call it)  : A hand-  me – down from my sister – in – law years ago.

Black Pencil Skirt : A gift from my mama before I graduated from college. So yes, that was 7 years ago. But if I had money back then, I would buy it for myself because I knew it will never go out of style.

Nude Heels : Another gift from my mom. 🙂

To be honest, I could buy a new wardrobe if I wanted to. But I thought that it would be a good opportunity to rummage my closet for old yet classic finds. Lo and behold, I was able to put up a nice outfit for the event.

So what am I trying to tell you? Here are just some few tips from me.

  1. When invited to an event, a special occasion or some sort of gathering, I know it can be pretty exciting to run to the nearest mall for a new outfit. DON’T… just yet. I suggest that you look for interesting pieces in your own closet. Who knows if you still have that gorgeous skirt underneath those scarves and whatnots? It’s about time that you become resourceful by mixing outfits.
  2. If you are going to shop, opt for the classic and timeless pieces. In the end, it will turn out to be more practical.

Of course, I have to thank my mom and sister- in – law for this particular wardrobe. But hey, I’ve learned valuable things from it. 🙂

That’s it.

It’s almost 1AM. I need to get some sleep. Good Night!

Leave a Reply

